Friday, February 23, 2024

Readers' Favorite Book Review - AnaRose and Pharaoh's Gold by Mary Ann Bernal

 


Universal Buy Link

AnaRose and Pharaoh’s Gold is a mystery adventure novella by Mary Ann Bernal. After a sudden fire at the museum, Dr. AnaRose Preston, an archaeologist and museum curator, and her assistant, Josephine Hughes (Jo), travel to Cairo, Egypt, in search of an ancient gold ushabti rumored to be on auction on the black market. However, AnaRose isn’t the only one looking for the valuable artifact, as the Cult of Apophis -- a covert network worshipping the Egyptian god of chaos and destruction -- needs the artifact for their nefarious plans. While AnaRose is working with local law enforcement and Dr. Adam Rose, Professor of Anthropology at the American University in Cairo, Jo is kidnapped by one of the Apophis members. Will AnaRose be able to rescue Jo and find the ushabti?

Fans of Indiana Jones or The Mummy movies will have a blast with AnaRose and Pharaoh’s Gold. Mary Ann Bernal spins a fast-paced yarn bound to delight adventure mystery readers. The plot is concise and layered with humor, drama, and intrigue. Through her narrative, Bernal paints a colorful and vibrant portrait of the city of Cairo, with its sprawling bazaars and ancient buildings beautifully captured in the pages. The setting is very immersive, and you really don’t want to put down the book before finishing it. The author also infuses a lot of lore into the story, and you find yourself rooting for AnaRose to get her hands on the artifact. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to readers who enjoy adventure and mystery tales.

Reviewed by Pikasho Deka for Readers’ Favorite